Cactus blooms and a super moon

Last Thursday Steve and I boarded a plane on a Seattle May afternoon, in 51 degrees and pouring rain. The plane sailed through the skies and dropped us off in the arms of an 85 degree Scottsdale evening, and my parents.

There began our four days of R&R under blue skies — oh golly they’re really so blue!–reading, taking pool dips, going on a never-ending hike “Just around this corner is the parking lot… ok, this corner!…” and dropping our jaws at all the cactus blooms.

Here’s the li’l holiday summation in photo highlights:

Out of these ho-hum cacti, a crimpson surprise. Surprise!

I’m calling this one “Husky-colored paddle cactus”

Cactus with caplets of blooms.

Palo verde trees were waving away in all their yellow glory.

Trio of my favorite smiling imps waiting for the goddamn supermoon.

And voila, just as we started to think the Moon was taking the night off:

Peek-a-boo.

About mercerwoodhome

"As the gods are my witness I will never do a home improvement project." Well now I am. Steve and I are. This is the story of how it all unfolds. Despite all the comments of "it's a real relationship tester," I think it could be surprisingly fun. With just a few tantrums and whatnots to keep things lively. Let's see, shall we?
This entry was posted in Family, Look at that!, Surprises. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment