How Colors Get Chosen

The painter’s hired! The painter’s hired!

This means the act of painting the barn-yard red house with a patch of new, nude siding is going to happen and we’re not doing it! 

We chose a dark grey with blue undertones. It resembles how the lake has looked recently–when the sun is out, it’s a breezy sunny day and the lake surface turns this deep handsome slate color. This is all theory, of course, since we just have one sample patch of the color on our house.

The process of choosing this color started last fall. I like blue, Steve likes grey, and after we painted our interior, I liked the idea of all those colors being wrapped by a nice solid tone.

We’re using Sherwin-Williams paints, and the family of colors were named after weather (Storm Clouds, etc). I figured: If we had a storm on our house, that might keep the storms from the sky. There.

But wait.

Then we had to pick a white for the trim.

One simple tone, a white, comes in so many freakin’ stinkin’ goddamn shades. Cool, warm, icy, passive-aggressive, cookie-maker. I mean my god.

Varying shades of White

Funny, in this photo the shades look really different–colorful even.

We have some sample whites on the house but they’re too stark and whitey-white.

Then Steve came home with some chips of warmer whites.

“I think I like this one,” Steve said, holding up the color tab in the upper-left corner of the photo.

“You know, I do too.” It was less whitey-white than the previous one, and —

“I sort of like the name, too. Roman columns.”

“OK.”

“We’re bringing a little Rome into our home,” I reasoned. “Plus I lived in Rome once, so it all makes sense.”

“Alrighty then, we have our white.”

And in about 5 minutes, we had nailed down a very important decision.

About mercerwoodhome

"As the gods are my witness I will never do a home improvement project." Well now I am. Steve and I are. This is the story of how it all unfolds. Despite all the comments of "it's a real relationship tester," I think it could be surprisingly fun. With just a few tantrums and whatnots to keep things lively. Let's see, shall we?
This entry was posted in Before and after, Look at that!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment